mighty morphin power rangers: pink #1

8188396.jpg

The Facts

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: Pink #1
by Brenden Fletcher & Kelly Thompson

I was really excited to learn about the Pink Ranger comic run several months ago. Like most kids born in the ’90s, I watched Mighty Morphin Power Rangers with a fervor bordering on reverence. Unfortunately, because I was a girl who didn’t (and who still doesn’t, really) like the color pink, I never fully appreciated Kimberly until several years ago, when I realized I hadn’t given her a chance just because she was the Pink Ranger. Which is, ultimately, a shame, because she’s pretty great and badass in a time when there weren’t a whole lot of kickass women on shows, especially not shows for kids, and considering most female characters I would have wanted to be for Halloween didn’t have brown hair and wigs made me itch.

I’m no stranger to Brenden Fletcher; I will tell anyone who will sit still long enough to listen that I love the new Batgirl run over at DC, and I also really enjoy Gotham Academy, so I was excited to see what he would bring to the table for the Pink Ranger. I haven’t read any of the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers comics (yet), but right before doing this writeup, I went onto Comixology and purchased all of the issues that are out so far. (As you can see in the photo, I do most of my comic-reading on my iPad; comic books take up a lot of space, which I frankly don’t have, and my boyfriend and I share the Marvel and Comixology accounts, which means we don’t need to buy two copies of everything. Thank you, digital comics!)

When we catch up with Kimberly, who is rocking some great straight-across bangs the likes of which I sported until high school, she’s at a gymnastics tournament. Her mother and step-father have failed to show up, which is unusual, so she hops on her motorcycle and goes to the little French village where they’re now living, only to find it totally deserted. I don’t want to do a recap of the whole issue–that’s not what this is for. This is just to tell you that I think you should start reading along with me. But already, I’m with her. Something is weird, and she’s throwing on a great leather jacket and going to find out what it is.

Reading this issue was like a mystery novel meets a superhero comic. It’s a limited run, so there’s a very clear trajectory and storyline that we’re following. I sometimes feel comics suffer from a haziness of direction for the first few issues, but I didn’t feel that way here. There’s something super weird going on, and Kimberly’s going to get to the bottom of it, and if she dons the Pink Ranger suit along the way, even better. I’d honestly read this comic even if she didn’t turn into the Pink Ranger. She’s compelling: she’s fierce and funny and kickass but not without kindness and soft-heartedness. This isn’t the campy but fun ’90s cartoon. This is a Power Rangers–a Kimberly Hart–for the twenty-first century, and I can’t wait to see more of her.

Leave a Reply

